top of page

Staying Sane: A New Year & Another Semester Back in School

It has been quite some time since I last wrote in here. Hot summer, I couldn't wait for cooler weather, now I'm longing for the suns sweet touch.

I know many of us are back in school, busy and trying to manage the stress that comes with it. Even if you're not in school, life and work can be crazy and I know it can be overwhelming. So... I wanted to share some of my favorite ways I like to take on these crazy times.

Starting with the basics!

1. First Thing is First: SLEEP. I know everyone and their mother has told you to make sure you're getting enough sleep. But seriously, go to sleep. You will thank yourself later! 7-8 hours of sleep is vital to my sanity. Have fun and get crazy, nights are great, but make sure to rest up after.

Not only will your friends thank you for actually looking alive at brunch, but your body will greatly benefit from it as well. Metabolism boosts and your body will have time to repair itself from the previous days activities.

2. Hydrate or Die-drate. Drink some of that h2o throughout the day, it wont hurt. So many of us don't drink enough water and by the time you realize your thirsty, your body's already hatin. One thing I like to do is just keep a reusable water bottle on me, at all times! I know you don't go anywhere without your phone, so make that a habit with your water bottle too. Seriously people, forget single-use water bottles, don't be that earth hater. Invest in a cute water bottle and make that your accessory.

3. Look Forward to Waking Up. Think of something that excites you, and do that first thing in the morning. For me, that's coffee. Ah, I can't wait for that strong scent of coffee in the morning and that first sip. YES. Make whatever it is that excites you, your morning ritual. Take that time to ease into your day and appreciate the new opportunities ahead of you.

Don't dread waking up, that just starts with negativity in your day. Wake up early enough to give yourself time to ready and ease into it. Yea, waking up late will give you a rush of adrenaline with only minutes to get ready. But come on, that's rough! And stressful! Pick something, and just do it. Don't hit snooze 5 times before actually getting up, you bum.

4. Release Your Rage at the Gym! Yea, not at your boyfriend/girlfriend or "friend." Life is stressful, we know. Let the gym be your release, keeping your mental and physical health in check. On my days off (after my coffee of course), that's where you'll find me.

1 to 1- 1/2 hours at the gym will do wonders. And not just cardio, that wont cut it. Get some weights in there too, build up those muscles for some tone and definition. That way, when we get older, we won't get so soft and frail. Lets strengthen those bones now, while we're young!

5. Maintain balance: School/Work & Social Life. This is one thing I struggle with. Finding the balance between studies and fun can be hard. We want to keep our grades up but at the same time, its college! I have to say, I focus mostly on my studies and furthering my future. So, I need to remind myself to go out and have some fun every once in a while... I guess I'd rather have it on that end of the spectrum than the other, but you get what I'm saying.

No offense anyone. Balance, balance is key. Write in your planner and schedule your work while fitting some fun in there as well. Its important for your mental health.

Thanks for reading! Let me know about any other topics or tips you'd like to hear about :)

Natalies Life Tips

#1 

Have Fun With Everything That You Do

 

#2

Spend Time With Those You Love, and Hopefully Love You Back

 

#3

Really, Dont Sweat The Small Stuff

bottom of page